Table of Contents Show
In case you didn’t know, it’s illegal to pump your own gas in Oregon and New Jersey. If you’re not from either of those states where you can’t pump your own gas, you’re probably wondering what on Earth they were thinking.
Believe it or not, these states argue that there are reasons behind it. They have nothing to do with being lazy. Keep reading to find out more!
What’s the Difference Between Self-Service and Full-Service Stations?
A self-service gas station allows the customer to pump their own gas. This is what we’re used to across most of the United States. You pull up to a pump, turn off your vehicle, get out, pump your own gas, pay, and drive off.
At full-service gas stations, such as in states where you can’t pump your own gas, a station attendant pumps the gas for you. The attendant will sometimes also clean your windshield.
They’ll do other minor maintenance tasks, but that isn’t often the case these days.
In the past, when full-service gas stations were the norm across the U.S., attendants had to do much more than pumping fuel. They would clean your windshield, check fluid levels like oil and coolant, and check the air pressure on tires.
They would also do other tasks that made sure the vehicle was operating properly. Many even did minor repairs.
Are There States Where You Can’t Pump Your Own Gas?
There are two states where you can’t pump your own gas. In New Jersey and Oregon, it’s unlawful in most instances for you to do so. You are to stay in your vehicle and allow the gas station attendant to pump gas for you in these two states.
New Jersey has required full-service gas stations since 1949. Oregon followed suit two years later in 1951.
Keep in Mind: Save money while on the road by getting gas with the lowest prices! Here’s Where to Find the Lowest Gas Prices in USA
Why Is It Illegal to Pump Your Own Gas?
The majority of reasons cited by New Jersey and Oregon for saying you can’t pump your own gas are safety concerns.
Because gasoline is a dangerous substance, they feel it’s in the public’s best interest for gas station employees to pump gas.
A fire hazard is one of the key reasons for requiring full-service gas stations in New Jersey and Oregon.
Both states where you can’t pump your own gas say that because gasoline is so flammable, it’s safer for trained employees to ensure that they turn off the vehicle and no one is smoking around the filling stations.
Along these same lines, in self-service stations, it’s a cashier’s responsibility to watch for customers that forget to turn off their vehicles or are smoking around the pumps.
Full-service states argue that this is difficult. When the cashier may be busy ringing up a customer, they often don’t have a clear line of sight of people pumping their own gas.
Having a gas station attendant that manages pumping gas ensures compliance with safety standards.
As with anything that can be dangerous, insurance is another consideration. New Jersey, in particular, has noted that allowing customers to pump their own gas is an increased liability that comes with higher insurance costs.
Gasoline also emits harmful fumes. The fumes from the gas can be dangerous, especially for pregnant women or people with respiratory issues.
What Happens If You Pump Your Own Gas in New Jersey and Oregon?
If you pump your own gas in New Jersey, it could mean a fine of between $50 and $250. If you repeat it, you could be fined up to $500.
It’s a little different in Oregon. The gas station can get a $500 fine for each person it allows to pump their gas. The customer, however, doesn’t face a fine.
If you’re uneducated on the laws of either state and start to pump your gas, an attendant will likely warn you. As long as you comply, you’re not likely to be fined.
Are There Places in Oregon and New Jersey Where You Can Pump Your Own Gas?
Oregon enacted a special stipulation in its laws in 2018 for gas stations in counties with less than 40,000 people to allow folks to pump their own gas.
These are generally gas stations located in more rural areas, largely in the state’s eastern portion.
There are no such areas of the state in New Jersey. You can’t pump your gas anywhere in the Garden State.
Pro Tip: When budgeting for your RV adventures, gas will be a big-ticket item! Prepare for your trips by learning everything you need to know on RV Gas Mileage!
Can You Pump Your Own Diesel in New Jersey and Oregon?
Though gasoline is considered too dangerous to pump it yourself in Oregon, drivers with diesel-powered vehicles can pump their own fuel. That is because diesel fuel is not a Class I flammable liquid, but gasoline is.
New Jersey is the only state that requires attendants to pump fuel for all customers. There are no areas of the state where the customer is allowed to refuel their own vehicle.
Not Pumping Gas Means Not Watching Your Dollars Tick Away
For those of us used to pumping our own gas, it may sound a little crazy that you can’t do so in New Jersey or Oregon. However, many residents of those states don’t mind the requirement at all.
It’s a contentious issue even amongst their citizens. Many people in New Jersey and Oregon argue the merits of requiring gas station attendants to pump their gas.
Aside from safety issues cited by the states, many residents believe it provides jobs. They also believe it’s a valuable service, particularly for folks with physical challenges.
Even if you are physically able and don’t mind pumping it yourself, there’s a side benefit to fueling up in the two states where you can’t pump your own gas.
When fuel costs are sky-high, you don’t have to watch your dollars tick away on the pump!